There are no resources or collections to display

2020-21 Annual Report | Endowment Gifts

Endowment gifts create lasting legacies of opportunity for future generations of Soleburians. Solebury is grateful to our families and their thoughtful, purpose-filled support of our school. This year, we are happy to share the addition of an endowed chair to our growing family of vital endowments.

The McDonnell ’23 Endowed Chair for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM)

A new cornerstone was set this year with the establishment of Solebury School’s first endowed academic chair. Focused on the STEM disciplines and thanks to the generosity of Eileen McDonnell P’23 and her daughter Claire ’23, the McDonnell Endowed Chair is designed to recognize an outstanding member of the Solebury School faculty in the STEM disciplines. To be considered for this distinguished award, a full-time faculty member must possess academic leadership and pursue excellence in teaching and supporting our students’ love of STEM, including teaching classes such as mathematics, engineering, computer science, architecture, math support, science, robotics, and others. The awardee will strengthen and enhance Solebury School’s STEM curricula and serve as a positive role model for students and colleagues. Once awarded, the recipient will hold this honor for three years. 

Solebury’s inaugural McDonnell Chair is Dr. Jennifer Perez P’25. While she has worn a multitude of hats during her over 20-year tenure at Solebury, her dedication to our Math program has remained a constant.

“I am honored to be named the inaugural McDonnell Chair,” shared Jen. “Anyone who knows me knows how much I love math! I am so grateful to have additional resources and funding to help our students grow and see their potential in STEM.”

The Susan Hirschfeld Eckstein GP’22 ’25 Memorial Prize

This annual prize recognizes dedication and achievement in the visual arts by a Solebury School Senior or recent graduate (no more than four years post-graduation.) This award was created by Susan’s partner, Marty Rosen, to honor her lifetime of kindness and caring for others. It also recognizes Susan’s artistic talent that captured the wonders of life by inspiring us with its beauty, putting big smiles on our faces and hearts, and allowing us to see a more hopeful world. 

This year’s awardee is Nicole Cosner ’21, who was chosen for her progress and growth into a self-assured young artist whose creative, sometimes whimsical, work is personal and worthy of recognition.


Established in 2020, The Zoe Chanler Sharpe ’19 Endowed Scholarship Fund was thoughtfully created by the Sharpe Family and the estate of Doris J. Lombardo to support Solebury School and its Theater Tech program. This fund supports independent and strong female students at Solebury School who are learning to find their place in the world, specifically through Theater Tech. It provides endowed scholarship support for a female student in 10th, 11th, or 12th grade with demonstrated financial need and a clear interest in Solebury’s Theater Tech program. 

This year’s inaugural prize was given to two dedicated students: Mackenzie Borine ’21 and Autumn Walker ’21. Both young women have been involved in the Theater Tech Program since stepping on campus and have fanned the flame of their love for theater here. Their dedication and love of the program is shared best in the words of their teacher, Peter Martino: 

Mackenzie has been an integral part of the theater tech program since her freshman year, where she started out in the program as a scenic artist and painter. Through her dedication and love for theater tech, Mackenzie's artistic abilities and attention to detail have greatly enhanced our productions. Her passion and natural talent quickly had her working under our veterans in the program. Mackenzie has been an incredible stage manager and has done our program proud. Mackenzie has added so much to the tech program and has been a rock to both her peers and the adults involved.

Autumn has been a valuable member of the theater tech program since she stepped foot on Solebury's campus. Autumn's organizational skills and attention to detail has made her a valuable addition to our theater tech program. She has taken great pride in organizing our workspaces, storage, and properties collection; making them easy to navigate and adding valuable square footage for storing new and needed pieces. With her quiet confidence and ability to seamlessly shift from task to task, she has truly grown into an invaluable member of the theater tech program.


For the past 21 years, Solebury School has partnered with the Page and Otto Marx, Jr. Foundation. The Foundation believes in making strong, independent schools available to students of color through tuition support. 

The Page and Otto Marx, Jr. Foundation Fund is Solebury School’s largest named endowed fund—with a balance of nearly $1.7 million at the end of FY21—thanks to thoughtful contributions and careful investment. In FY21 this fund provided nearly $65,000 in financial assistance, based on our endowment distribution formula which provides funds for today’s Solebury School while maintaining a healthy fund balance that will allow for financial distributions for generations. 

Support from the Page and Otto Marx, Jr. Foundation is critical to our diverse Solebury community. We are humbled by this level of generosity of our endowment fund donors, and we look forward to welcoming new members to this dedicated group of Solebury supporters. 

Below is a list of those who helped to build Solebury's many endowed funds during fiscal year 2021.


° First-year donor
• Five-year donor
*10- to 19-year donor
**20- to 29-year donor
***30- to 39-year donor
****40- to 49-year donor
*****50- to 59-year donor
† for deceased
H for Holmquist Alumnae

Gary Brackenridge P'23°
Estate of Rosemarie Glaser°
Paul and Julie Graver°
William and Sandra Greencher°
The Page and Otto Marx, Jr. Foundation**
Eileen McDonnell P'23