Commencement 2017

Saturday, June 10th, 2017

During a beautiful outdoor ceremony, we celebrated the Class of 2017.

After Head of School Tom Wilschutz welcomed everyone, Macio Sexton '17 was the first of our senior speakers to address the audience. "First and foremost, I would like to send my sincerest thanks and appreciation to the entire Solebury community. From the faculty and staff to the board of trustee members to the friends and family of the entire 2017 graduating class, without you all, this day would not be possible."

Senior speaker Eliza Mlodzinski '17, who began at Solebury School in the 7th grade, thanked her peers and wished them success. "I count myself incredibly lucky that I got to be in the same place as all of you while you were here. I’d like to thank all of you for making my six years here amazing, and to wish all of you the best of luck in wherever you go next."

Andrew Underwood '17, our final senior speaker, reflected on his personal growth as a student and urged his peers to seek their passions and go for it. "When we all leave here today and move on with our lives, make sure you are moving toward some purpose, something that drives you and makes you want to live for more than just the sake of living itself. And when you find that thing, don’t continue to follow someone else’s path.... just find your purpose and follow it, that is truly the fast track to happiness."

Watch the Ceremony

Prizes Awarded to the Class of 2017

Mike Mullen Award: George O'Connor

Dorothy MacBrien Award: Josh Poole

Frank Ammirati Mathematics and Science Prize: Chris O'Brian

William Pendleton Orrick Senior Prize: Sam Benson

Highest GPA in the Class of 2017: Kate Gregory

Frank Ammirati Most Valuable Senior Athlete Award: Vikki Rueda-Juarez and Jongwook Jeon

Director of Studies Award Prize: Andrew Underwood

Dean of Students Prize: Jessica Randolph and Adam Mlodzinski

Diversity Award: Vikki Rueda-Juarez

Song Craft Award: Ashton Freeman

Duke Ellington Award for Excellence in Music: Josh Poole

Home and School Community Service Prize: Vikki Rueda-Juarez

Julian L. Lathrop Academic Award for Social Science: Macio Sexton

Laurie Erskine Academic Award for Literature: Kate Gregory

Founders Academic Award for Language: Kate Gregory

Karline Holmquist Academic Award in Visual Arts: Alex Babicki

Arthur H. Washburn Academic Award for Science: Chris O'Brian

Arthur H. Washburn Academic Award for Math: Chris O'Brian and Andrew Underwood